Audi wins its 4th American LeMans Series.

Dindo Capello (Italy) and Allan McNish (Scotland) recorded Audi’s fourth outright American Le Mans Series victory with the revolutionary near 650 hp R10 TDI in this year’s 12-race series when the 2007 LM P1 champions won an exciting four-hour ALMS finale at Mazda Laguna Seca Reaceway for a second consecutive year.

Their #1 Audi started from fifth on the 30-car grid and averaged 87.755mph around the sweeping 2.238 mile track to finish a mere 0.410secs ahead of the second-placed #7 Porsche after a thrilling, race-long battle with both LM P2 Porsches. It marked the 21st consecutive category win for the revolutionary Audi R10 TDI which remains unbeaten in the LM P1 class since its debut in March 2006.

The "sister” Audi R10 TDI driven by Marco Werner (Germany) and Mike "Rocky” Rockenfeller (Germany), started seventh and went on to finish third overall (2nd LM P1) – 21secs behind the winning Audi. The #2 Audi required a front nose change after contact with another car when running third overall with 90mins to run. Audi’s win marked the German manufacturer’s seventh overall Laguna Seca victory since 2000.

Congratulations to Audi Sport on a superb 2007 season!